Skip to main content
02 Keren Cytter, psycho the rapist, 2023_crp.jpg

My Last Will

Artist(s)
Loukia Alavanou, Lara Almarcegui, Carlos Amorales, Ivàn Argote, John Bock, Mohamed Bourouissa, Olaf Breuning, Chicks on Speed, Clément Cogitore, Keren Cytter, Marcel Dzama, Hanakam & Schuller, Su Hui-Yu, Mire Lee, Erik van Lieshout, Renzo Martens, MASBEDO, Christodoulos Panayiotou, Cesare Pietroiusti, Agnieszka Polska, PPKK (Schönfeld & Scoufaras), L.A. Raeven, Ricarda Roggan, Santiago Sierra, Shelly Silver, Su-Mei Tse, Raphaela Vogel, Simon Wachsmuth, Clemens von Wedemeyer, Tobias Zielony, Thomas Zipp, Portia Zvavahera
Curator(s)
M+M

The exhibition was produced in cooperation with Kunstsammlungen Chemnitz, where it was shown from 2 July to 1 October 2023.

In the exhibition and the eponymous artist’s book, My Last Will, 32 contemporary, international artists and artist groups respond to the question “What remains?”. They individually explore their legacy and try, each in their own way, to capture the core of what makes up their goals and interests with a central statement or a paradigmatic work. In doing so, they question their presumed significance for a future they will no longer experience and whose measures of value are still completely unknown to them.

“What remains?” is a question that gains a special topicality against the backdrop of the pandemic and a war in Europe, and the associated change in perspective and values.

The artists’ examination is designed as a free, open-ended experiment. The starting point for the engagement with the question is the artist book My Last Will, in which specially developed text, collage, and image contributions from the participants are collected. Five commissioned works were also created in the context of the exhibition.

Photo: Keren Cytter, psycho the rapist, 2023. Courtesy the artist.

 

 

Exhibitions

Opening: Friday 24.05.2024, 18:00 – 21:00 

Share

Direkt zum Inhalt
02 Keren Cytter, psycho the rapist, 2023_crp.jpg

My Last Will

Künstler*in(nen)
Loukia Alavanou, Lara Almarcegui, Carlos Amorales, Ivàn Argote, John Bock, Mohamed Bourouissa, Olaf Breuning, Chicks on Speed, Clément Cogitore, Keren Cytter, Marcel Dzama, Hanakam & Schuller, Su Hui-Yu, Mire Lee, Erik van Lieshout, Renzo Martens, MASBEDO, Christodoulos Panayiotou, Cesare Pietroiusti, Agnieszka Polska, PPKK (Schönfeld & Scoufaras), L.A. Raeven, Ricarda Roggan, Santiago Sierra, Shelly Silver, Su-Mei Tse, Raphaela Vogel, Simon Wachsmuth, Clemens von Wedemeyer, Tobias Zielony, Thomas Zipp, Portia Zvavahera
Kurator*in(nen)
M+M

Die Ausstellung entstand in Zusammenarbeit mit den Kunstsammlungen Chemnitz, wo sie vom 2. Juli bis zum 1. Oktober 2023 gezeigt wurde. 

In der Ausstellung und im gleichnamigen Künstlerbuch My Last Will antworten 32 aktuelle, internationale Künstler*innen und Künstlergruppen auf die Frage »Was bleibt?«. Sie setzen sich individuell mit ihrem Vermächtnis auseinander und versuchen jeder für sich mit einer zentralen Aussage oder anhand eines paradigmatischen Werkes den Kern dessen zu treffen, was ihre Ziele und Interessen ausmacht. Dabei hinterfragen sie deren mutmaßliche Bedeutung für eine Zukunft, die sie selbst nicht mehr erleben werden und deren Wertmaßstäbe ihnen noch gänzlich unbekannt sind.  

»Was bleibt?« ist eine Frage, die vor dem Hintergrund der Pandemie und eines Krieges in Europa und dem damit einhergehenden Perspektiv- und Wertewechsel eine besondere Aktualität erfährt. 

Die Auseinandersetzung der Künstler*innen ist dabei als freies ergebnisoffenes Experiment angelegt. Ausgangspunkt der Beschäftigung mit der Fragestellung ist das Künstlerbuch My Last Will, in dem eigens entwickelte Text-, Collage- und Bildbeiträge der Beteiligten zusammengefasst sind. Im Rahmen der Ausstellung entstanden zudem fünf Auftragsarbeiten.  

Foto: Keren Cytter, psycho the rapist, 2023. Courtesy the artist.

 

 

 

Ausstellungen

Eröffnung: Freitag, 24.05.2024, 18.00 – 21.00 Uhr

Teilen

Partners

Gefördert durch:

kdb

Gefördert von:

bkm