Skip to main content

Casino Display

Display

About

A place of work, of research, of exchanges and orientation, with the aim of encouraging and supporting young creatives. The programme at Casino Display is arranged by Casino Luxembourg – Forum d’art contemporain.

By agreement with the Ministry of Culture and with the aim of expanding its reach, from February 2021 Casino Luxembourg has taken over managing the programme for the Konschthaus Beim Engel gallery, now known as Casino Display.

In the absence of art schools in Luxembourg and of relatively institutionalised contemporary art, it was vital to create a platform aimed at promoting the freshest creativity and of supporting the young creatives of today and tomorrow.

One of the roles of Casino Display will be to offer orientation for young people, enabling them to familiarise themselves more easily with the range of creative courses on offer in art schools and the variety of opportunities out there. With this in mind, the Casino Display programme particularly envisages encouraging cross-fertilisation between practices and interdisciplinary encounters.

In parallel with this, a talent search will be undertaken throughout the year in the four schools of art with which Casino Luxembourg has forged partnerships (ÉSAL – École supérieure d’art de Lorraine, Metz/Épinal; ENSAD – École nationale supérieure d’art et de design, Nancy; HEAR – Haute École des arts du Rhin, Strasbourg/Mulhouse; HBKsaar – Hochschule der Bildenden Künste Saar, Saarbrücken). This talent search and dialogue will be conducted with, at its heart, the possibility for the selected students to exhibit at Casino Display.

Research

Photo : Casino Luxembourg

Living up to its mission as a Space for Artistic Research, between September 2023 and February 2024 Casino Display will organise the second edition of its Artistic Research Lab. Based on a practice-led approach to knowledge production, Casino Display will become a transdisciplinary meeting point where a selected group of art students can rely on the logic of experimentation for the emergence of unchartered knowledge. Students will have the possibility to think with and experiment along professionals of the art world, whilst proposing a space for trying out unfinished ideas, probing freshly sketched concepts, or reversing solid ontologies in favour of more flexible ones. In short, the goal is to create a space where the drive for experimentation encourages knowledge.  

Milieus of [Fictions] in Milieus
September 2023 - February 2024 

Resident artists: Agnieszka Antkowiak, Emma Dupré, Seohyeon Kim, Maitiú Mac Cárthaigh, Alexis Puget, Josefina Sundblad

Guest speakers: Jeff Diamanti (University of Amsterdam), Dr. Jean Botev (University of Luxembourg), Sonia D'Alto (independent curator, author), Alice Twemlow (University of Amsterdam, Royal Academy of Art, The Hague - KABK)

While milieus are perceptual worlds in which evolve human and non-human beings alike, fictions are stories, technologies or systems that are created as a support to hold and to explore the unknown. Artists intervene on both levels, by questioning the fictions holding old meanings in place, fictionning alternatives, engaging in fictional and conceptual displacement.  

After Experimental Re(é)[flex|ct|ion] Expérimentale in 2022-23, this second edition of the Artistic Research Lab will investigate worlds of unknown realities, which are yet to be fully articulated but that are nonetheless perceivable. We will explore how fiction can be used as a research method creating its own milieu while spreading into others. We will focus on the potential of artistic research as a way to move out of the confines of language by relying on direct engagement with materiality, concepts, thoughts, affects, and feelings, in order to confront systems of knowledge and to create new narratives.  

Past research labs

septembre 2022 – février 2023
Experimental Re(é)[flex|ct|ion] Expérimentale
résidences et exposition collective avec Erick Fowler, Ludovic Hadjeras, Uriel Ladino, Nguyen Phuong Thao, Katja Pilisi, Razan Sabbagh
Curateur : Charles Rouleau

28.01.2022 – 27.02.2022
Woven in Vegetal Fabric: On Plant Becomings
exposition collective avec Leonie Brandner, Catherine Duboutay, Carlos Molina
avec sortie d'une publication disponible dans notre eshop
Artiste - curateur : Charles Rouleau

Artist residencies

ludovic hadjeras, Waiting for foxes, 2022. Photo : Tom Janssen

Casino Display also offers a six-month artist residency. It is part of the natural evolution and continuous development of the residency programme that Casino Luxembourg has pursued since 2010. The residency at Casino Display is primarily intended as a time of research and dialogue. The outcome of the residency can be an exhibition, but in essence, no finished results are obligatory.

March to July 2024: ludovic hadjeras

ludovic hadjeras (born in France in 1996) is a visual artist whose work addresses identity-related issues through the relationships between humans and non-humans. In his practice, he focuses on the spaces occupied by other animals by seeking contact and sometimes collaborating with them. Living between Amsterdam and Algiers, his movements and the encounters to which they give rise are reflected in his work, which takes the form of installations, sculptures, videos and texts.  

ludovic hadjeras took part in the artistic research laboratory Experimental Re(é)[flex|ct|ion] Expérimentale at Casino Display in 2022. In 2019, the artist was part of the group of students from the Haute École des arts du Rhin (HEAR) who organised the exhibition caméra silex patates germées. There he presented the performance Le loup ne peut guetter la lune qu'en sortant de la forêt.

www.ludovichadjeras.com

Past residencies

2023

Océane Muller – Rivage Confondu
Curator: Charles Rouleau

2022 

Lynn Klemmer : WHAT FIRES TOGETHER WIRES TOGETHER / I Will Not Return to a Universe of Objects That Don't Know Each Other 
Curator: Nadina Faljic

2021 

Andrea Mancini – New Age Landscape
Resident curator: Nadina Faljic, co-curated by Christine Walentiny

Sticky Flames. Bodies, Objects and Affects
exposition collective avec Alexandre Caretti, Ksenia Khmelnitskaya, Darja Linder, Jonathan Maus, Bruno Oliveira
Resident curator: Nadina Faljic, co-curated by Mnemozine

In-School residency

Image : Lycée des Arts et Métiers

« « « « DOCUMENTAIRE ANIMALIER » » » » (AVEC QUATRE GUILLEMETS)

Artist: Emma Dupré 

September - March 2024 

Exhibition: 23.02 - 04.03.2024
Opening: Friday 23.02.2024 

Since September 2023, a new residency is in place in a school environment, in collaboration with Fondation Sommer and the Lycée des Arts et Métiers. During this residency, artist Emma Dupré  is working on establishing new ways of paying attention to the non-humans with whom we share our daily lives without even noticing them. The project is based on a collaboration between the artist and students at the Lycée des Arts et Métiers, through the artist's presence in the school and a series of workshops in the classrooms. The aim is to explore what we sometimes call the banal, which, through artistic creation, can take on new dimensions. The emphasis is on group observation, rush exchanges, scriptwriting and low-cost alternative creation.   

In order to encourage this contact, the artist has a working space at her disposal inside the Lycée des Arts et Métiers. Students are encouraged to get in touch with her on a daily basis, and also to continue their reflections on the project outside the workshops.

The residency will culminate in an exhibition at Casino Display with works by the students and the artist. 

A collaboration with Lycée des Arts et Métiers

Pilot project supported by Fondation Sommer 

ARTMIX 2024

Artists: Noé Duboutay, Sophia Lökenhoff, Darja Linder, Hannah Mevis

In a wish to foster intercultural cooperation between Luxembourg and Saarland, and in order to give Luxembourg and German visual artists and curators the opportunity to initiate joint projects, the cities of Luxembourg and Saarbrücken have joined forces to relaunch cross-border project ARTMIX as a biannual edition. 

Casino Display is joining forces with Cercle Cité, neimënster, the City of Luxembourg and the City of Saarbrücken, and will set up a networking programme, enabling emerging artists to make contact with professionals in the arts sector.

The expert jury chose the artists Noé Duboutay (in collaboration with Sophia Lökenhoff) and Darja Linder (in collaboration with Hannah Mevis). Together, they will be taking part in artist residencies in neimënster and at the Stadtgalerie in Saarbrücken. A joint exhibition will be held at the Cercle Cité Ratskeller and the Saarbrücken Stadtgalerie in summer 2024.

Partner schools

ENSAD
École nationale supérieure d’art et de design, Nancy

HBKsaar
Hochschule der Bildenden Künste Saar, Saarbrücken

HEAR
Haute École des arts du Rhin, Strasbourg/Mulhouse

ÉSAL
École supérieure d’art de Lorraine, Metz/Épinal

Contact

Address
Casino Display
1, rue de la Loge
L-1945 Luxembourg

(+352) 22 50 45

Visites sur rendez-vous

Aller au contenu principal

Casino Display

Display

À propos

Lieu de travail, de recherche, d’échange et d’orientation dont le but est de promouvoir et soutenir la jeune création. La programmation du Casino Display est assurée par le Casino Luxembourg – Forum d’art contemporain.

En accord avec le Ministère de la Culture et dans un souci d’élargir son champ d’action, le Casino Luxembourg a repris en février 2021 la programmation de la galerie du Konschthaus Beim Engel, désormais appelée Casino Display.

En l’absence d’écoles d’art ou Luxembourg et d’un art contemporain relativement institutionnalisé, il était essentiel de créer une plateforme dont le but est de promouvoir la jeune création d’aujourd’hui et de demain.

Un des rôles du Casino Display sera d’orienter les jeunes, de leur permettre de se familiariser plus facilement avec la diversité des études créatives proposées dans des écoles supérieures d’art et la variété des débouchés. En ce sens, la programmation du Casino Display prévoit notamment d’encourager le croisement de pratiques et des rencontres interdisciplinaires.

En parallèle, un travail de prospection se fera tout au long de l’année dans quatre écoles supérieures d’art avec lesquelles le Casino Luxembourg a noué des partenariats. Ce travail de prospection et d’échange sera réalisé avec, à la clé, la possibilité pour des étudiant·e·s sélectionné·e·s d’exposer au Casino Display.

Recherche

Photo : Casino Luxembourg

En tant que lieu de recherche artistique, le Casino Display présentera de septembre 2023 à février 2024 la deuxième édition de son laboratoire de recherche artistique. Encourageant la production de connaissances basée sur la pratique, le Casino Display propose à un groupe d’étudiant·e·s sélectionné·e·s ou récemment diplômé·e·s la possibilité de réfléchir et d’expérimenter avec l’aide de professionnel·le·s de l’art, tout en proposant un espace pour mettre à l’épreuve des idées inachevées, sonder des concepts fraîchement esquissés, ou renverser des ontologies solides en faveur d’ontologies plus souples. En bref, il s’agit de créer un espace dans lequel la volonté d’expérimentation comme vecteur d’apprentissage et de recherche peut s’épanouir. 

Milieus of [Fictions] in Milieus
Septembre 2023 – février 2024

Artistes résident·e·s : Agnieszka Antkowiak, Emma Dupré, Seohyeon Kim, Maitiú Mac Cárthaigh, Alexis Puget, Josefina Sundblad

Intervenant·e·s : Jeff Diamanti (University of Amsterdam), Dr. Jean Botev (Université du Luxembourg), Sonia D’Alto (curatrice indépendante, auteure), Alice Twemlow (University of Amsterdam, Royal Academy of Art, The Hague – KABK)

Le milieu peut être défini comme étant le monde perceptif dans lequel évoluent les humains et les non-humains. Les fictions, quant à elles, peuvent être des histoires, des technologies ou des systèmes créés comme support pour encapsuler ou explorer l’inconnu. Les artistes interviennent sur ces deux niveaux, en remettant en question les fictions qui maintiennent des concepts vieillissants, en « fictionnant » des alternatives, en s’engageant dans des déplacements fictionnels et conceptuels.  

Après Experimental Re(é)[flex|ct|ion] Expérimentale en 2022-23, cette deuxième édition du laboratoire de recherche artistique nous plongera dans des mondes aux réalités inconnues, celles qui ne sont pas encore complètement articulées mais néanmoins perceptibles. Nous explorerons la façon dont la fiction peut être utilisée comme méthode de recherche pour créer son propre milieu tout en débordant sur les autres. Nous allons interroger le potentiel de la recherche artistique pour dépasser les limites du langage en nous appuyant sur un engagement direct avec la matérialité, les concepts, les pensées, les affects et les sentiments, afin de confronter les systèmes de connaissance et créer de nouveaux récits.  

 

Laboratoires de recherche passés

septembre 2022 – février 2023
Experimental Re(é)[flex|ct|ion] Expérimentale
résidences et exposition collective avec Erick Fowler, Ludovic Hadjeras, Uriel Ladino, Nguyen Phuong Thao, Katja Pilisi, Razan Sabbagh
Curateur : Charles Rouleau

28.01.2022 – 27.02.2022
Woven in Vegetal Fabric: On Plant Becomings
exposition collective avec Leonie Brandner, Catherine Duboutay, Carlos Molina
avec sortie d'une publication disponible dans notre eshop
Artiste - curateur : Charles Rouleau

Résidences d'artiste

ludovic hadjeras, Waiting for foxes, 2022. Photo : Tom Janssen

Le Casino Display propose également une résidence d'artiste de six mois. Celle-ci fait partie de l'évolution naturelle et du développement continu du programme de résidence que le Casino Luxembourg poursuit depuis 2010. La résidence au Casino Display se veut avant tout un moment de recherche et de dialogue. Elle peut aboutir sur une exposition, mais celle-ci n'est nullement obligatoire.

De mars à juillet 2024 : ludovic hadjeras 

ludovic hadjeras (né en France en 1996) est un artiste plasticien dont le travail aborde, entre autres, des questionnements quasi-identitaires liés aux relations entre humain·e·s et non-humain·e·s. Il place au cœur de sa pratique une attention particulière aux espaces qu’occupent d’autres animaux, cherchant le contact, parfois la collaboration. Vivant sur l’axe Amsterdam – Alger, ses mouvements et les rencontres qui en émergent se traduisent dans sa pratique sous la forme d’installation, de sculpture, de vidéo et d’écrits. 

ludovic hadjeras a pris part au laboratoire de recherche artistique Experimental Re(é)[flex|ct|ion] Expérimentale au Casino Display en 2022. En 2019, l’artiste faisait partie du groupe d’étudiant·e·s de la Haute École des arts du Rhin (HEAR) ayant organisé l’exposition intitulée caméra silex patates germées. Il y a présenté la performance Le loup ne peut guetter la lune qu’en sortant de la forêt

www.ludovichadjeras.com

Résidences passées

2023

Océane Muller – Rivage Confondu
Commissaire : Charles Rouleau

2022 

Lynn Klemmer : WHAT FIRES TOGETHER WIRES TOGETHER / I Will Not Return to a Universe of Objects That Don't Know Each Other 
Commissaire : Nadina Faljic

2021 

Andrea Mancini – New Age Landscape
Commissaire en résidence : Nadina Faljic, co-commissariat avec Christine Walentiny

Sticky Flames. Bodies, Objects and Affects
exposition collective avec Alexandre Caretti, Ksenia Khmelnitskaya, Darja Linder, Jonathan Maus, Bruno Oliveira
Commissaire en résidence : Nadina Faljic, co-commissariat avec Mnemozine

Résidence en milieu scolaire

Image : Lycée des Arts et Métiers

« « « « DOCUMENTAIRE ANIMALIER » » » » (AVEC QUATRE GUILLEMETS)

Artiste : Emma Dupré 

Septembre – mars 2024 

Exposition : 24.02 – 04.03.2024 
Vernissage : Vendredi 23.02.2024

En septembre 2023, une nouvelle résidence a éte mise en place dans le milieu scolaire, en collaboration avec la Fondation Sommer et le Lycée des Arts et Métiers. Durant cette résidence, l’artiste Emma Dupré cherche à instaurer de nouveaux régimes d’attention autour des non-humains avec qui l’on partage notre quotidien sans pour autant les remarquer. Ce projet s’articule autour de la collaboration et du contact entre l’artiste et les élèves du Lycée des Arts et Métiers par le biais de la présence de l’artiste dans le milieu scolaire et d’une série d’ateliers dans les classes. Il s’agit d’explorer ce que l’on appelle parfois le banal qui, par la création artistique, peut prendre de nouvelles dimensions. L’accent est mis sur l’observation de groupe, les pratiques d’échanges de rush, l’écriture de scénario et la création alternative low-cost.   

Dans l’optique de favoriser davantage ce contact, l’artiste possède un lieu de travail à sa disposition à l’intérieur même du Lycée des Arts et Métiers. Les élèves peuvent donc venir à sa rencontre, la côtoyer au quotidien et aussi continuer leurs réflexions sur le projet hors des ateliers.

La résidence se conclura par une exposition au Casino Display des travaux faits par les élèves et par l’artiste. 

artsetmetiers.lu
emma-dupre.neocities.org

En collaboration avec le Lycée des Arts et Métiers

Projet pilote soutenu par la Fondation Sommer 
 

ARTMIX 2024

Artistes : Noé Duboutay, Sophia Lökenhoff, Darja Linder, Hannah Mevis

Dans l'esprit de la coopération interculturelle entre le Luxembourg et la Sarre, et afin de donner l'opportunité à des artistes plasticien·ne·s et curateur·rice·s luxembourgeois·e·s et allemand·e·s d'initier des projets communs, les Villes de Luxembourg et de Sarrebruck se sont associées pour relancer le projet transfrontalier ARTMIX sous forme bisannuelle. 

ARTMIX, dans sa nouvelle mouture, est porté par le Cercle Cité, neimënster, la Ville de Luxembourg et la Ville de Sarrebruck en vue de soutenir la scène émergente en Grande Région. Le Casino Display s'associe en tant que partenaire et pilotera un programme de réseautage, qui permettra aux artistes d'entrer en contact direct avec des professionnel·le·s du secteur artistique.

Le choix du jury d’experts s'est porté sur les artistes Noé Duboutay (en collaboration avec Sophia Lökenhoff) et Darja Linder (en collaboration avec Hannah Mevis). Ensemble, iels participeront à des résidences d’artistes à neimënster et à la Stadtgalerie de Sarrebruck. Une exposition commune aura lieu au Ratskeller du Cercle Cité et à la Stadtgalerie de Sarrebruck en été 2024.

Écoles partenaires

ENSAD
École nationale supérieure d’art et de design, Nancy

HBKsaar
Hochschule der Bildenden Künste Saar, Saarbrücken

HEAR
Haute École des arts du Rhin, Strasbourg/Mulhouse

ÉSAL
École supérieure d’art de Lorraine, Metz/Épinal

Contact

Adresse
Casino Display
1, rue de la Loge
L-1945 Luxembourg

(+352) 22 50 45

Visites sur rendez-vous