Skip to main content
Unspeakable Home

Unspeakable Home

Artist(s)
Aaron Einbond (compos.), United Instruments of Lucilin (interpr.)

Performed installation written for United Instruments of Lucilin 

Go to the pine if you want to learn about the pine 

– Matsuo Bashō 

What sounds most touch us? How do they mark our memories? I asked the performers of United Instruments of Lucilin to describe the places most meaningful to them in Luxembourg, home to the ensemble and many of its members, and to imitate the sounds of these places with their instruments. I then visited each place to make ambient field recordings inspired by the performers’ descriptions, and I composed a score weaving together the descriptions, instrumental sounds, field recordings, and detailed transcriptions of each recording for the performers to reinterpret live. The resulting performed installation says as much about the performers and my own experiences as the places themselves. The audience visits the cyclical work for as long they wish to join us in the recollected soundscape. Through our fragmented sounds and memories, we each try to find our way home. 

– Aaron Einbond

Aaron Einbond’s work explores the intersection of instrumental music, field recording, sound installation, and interactive technology. He teaches at City, University of London and is Co-Artistic Director of Qubit New Music in New York. He has received a John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellowship, a Giga-Hertz Förderpreis, and Artistic Research Residencies at IRCAM and ZKM. He has taught at Columbia University, the University of Huddersfield, and Harvard University and studied at Harvard University, the University of Cambridge, the University of California Berkeley, and IRCAM with teachers including Mario Davidovsky, Julian Anderson, Edmund Campion, and Philippe Leroux. 

The ensemble for contemporary music United Instruments of Lucilin was founded in 1999 by a group of passionate and committed musicians and is the only Luxembourgish chamber music ensemble specialised in contemporary music. Dedicated exclusively to promoting and commissioning works of the 20th and 21st century, United Instruments of Lucilin is now known for its outstanding programs around the world. 

In about 40 concerts a year, Lucilin presents a broad scope of musical events, ranging from “traditional” concerts to music theatre productions, children projects, improvisation sessions as well as discussions with composers. In May 2022, the ensemble premiered Sleep Laboratory, Alexander Schubert’s last immersive project with VR at the Achtbrücken festival in Cologne.  

Lately, United Instruments of Lucilin has commissioned works to James Dillon, Fatima Fonte, Giulia Lorusso, Philippe Manoury, Sonja Mutić, François Sarhan, Igor Silva and Stefan Prins. 

Performance
Sound Without Music

Première mondiale

Participation : 10 € / 1,50 € avec le Kulturpass

Share

Partners

Ministère de la Culture (commission publique), OTO Sound Museum

Tickets

United Instruments of Lucilin perform "Unspeakable Home" by Aaron Einbond

Direkt zum Inhalt
Unspeakable Home

Unspeakable Home

Künstler*in(nen)
Aaron Einbond (compos.), United Instruments of Lucilin (interpr.)

Eine performative Installation, komponiert für United Instruments of Lucilin

Go to the pine if you want to learn about the pine 

– Matsuo Bashō 

Welche Klänge berühren uns am meisten? Wie prägen sie unsere Erinnerungen? Ich bat die Interpreten von United Instruments of Lucilin, die für sie bedeutsamsten Orte in Luxemburg zu beschreiben, wo das Ensemble und mehrere seiner Mitglieder leben, und die Klänge dieser Orte mit ihren Instrumenten zu imitieren. Anschließend besuchte ich jeden Ort, um von den Beschreibungen der Interpreten inspirierte Stimmungsaufnahmen zu machen, und stellte eine Partitur zusammen, die die Beschreibungen, Instrumentalklänge, Stimmungsaufnahmen und detaillierte Transkriptionen jeder Aufnahme für die Interpreten zusammenstellt, damit sie diese live neu interpretieren können. Die daraus resultierende Performance-Installation erzählt genauso viel über die Interpreten und meine eigenen Erfahrungen wie über den Ort selbst. Die BetrachterInnen besuchen das zyklische Werk so lange, wie sie möchten, und schließen sich uns in der erinnerten Klanglandschaft an. Durch unsere Klänge und fragmentierten Erinnerungen versuchen wir alle, den Weg nach Hause zu finden.

– Aaron Einbond

Aaron Einbonds Arbeit erforscht die Schnittmenge zwischen Instrumentalmusik, Feldaufnahmen, Klanginstallationen und interaktiver Technologie. Er unterrichtet an der City, University of London und ist künstlerischer Co-Direktor von Qubit New Music in New York. Er erhielt ein Stipendium der John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation, einen Giga-Hertz Förderpreis und Residenzen für künstlerische Forschung am IRCAM und am ZKM. Er unterrichtete an der Columbia University, der University of Huddersfield und der Harvard University und studierte an der Harvard University, der University of Cambridge, der University of Berkeley sowie am IRCAM bei den Professoren Mario Davidovsky, Julian Anderson, Edmund Campion und Philippe Leroux.

Das Ensemble für zeitgenössische Musik United Instruments of Lucilin wurde 1999 von einer Gruppe leidenschaftlicher und engagierter Musiker*innen gegründet und ist das einzige luxemburgische Kammermusikensemble, das sich auf zeitgenössische Musik spezialisiert hat. United Instruments of Lucilin widmet sich ausschließlich der Förderung und Auftragsvergabe von Werken des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts und ist mittlerweile für seine außergewöhnlichen Programme auf der ganzen Welt bekannt. 

In rund 40 Konzerten pro Jahr präsentiert Lucilin ein breites Spektrum an musikalischen Ereignissen, von "traditionellen" Konzerten bis hin zu Musiktheaterproduktionen, Kinderprojekten, Improvisationssitzungen und Gesprächen mit Komponist*innen. Im Mai 2022 brachte das Ensemble Sleep Laboratory, Alexander Schuberts letztes immersives Virtual-Reality-Projekt, beim Achtbrücken-Festival in Köln zur Aufführung.  

Zuletzt hat United Instruments of Lucilin Werke bei James Dillon, Fatima Fonte, Giulia Lorusso, Philippe Manoury, Sonja Mutić, François Sarhan, Igor Silva und Stefan Prins in Auftrag gegeben. 

Performance
Sound Without Music

Weltpremiere

Gebühr: 10 € / 1,50 € mit dem Kulturpass

Teilen

Partners

Ministère de la Culture (commission publique), OTO Sound Museum

Tickets

United Instruments of Lucilin perform "Unspeakable Home" by Aaron Einbond