Skip to main content
Unspeakable Home

Unspeakable Home

Artist(s)
Aaron Einbond (compos.), United Instruments of Lucilin (interpr.)

Performed installation written for United Instruments of Lucilin 

Go to the pine if you want to learn about the pine 

– Matsuo Bashō 

What sounds most touch us? How do they mark our memories? I asked the performers of United Instruments of Lucilin to describe the places most meaningful to them in Luxembourg, home to the ensemble and many of its members, and to imitate the sounds of these places with their instruments. I then visited each place to make ambient field recordings inspired by the performers’ descriptions, and I composed a score weaving together the descriptions, instrumental sounds, field recordings, and detailed transcriptions of each recording for the performers to reinterpret live. The resulting performed installation says as much about the performers and my own experiences as the places themselves. The audience visits the cyclical work for as long they wish to join us in the recollected soundscape. Through our fragmented sounds and memories, we each try to find our way home. 

– Aaron Einbond

Aaron Einbond’s work explores the intersection of instrumental music, field recording, sound installation, and interactive technology. He teaches at City, University of London and is Co-Artistic Director of Qubit New Music in New York. He has received a John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellowship, a Giga-Hertz Förderpreis, and Artistic Research Residencies at IRCAM and ZKM. He has taught at Columbia University, the University of Huddersfield, and Harvard University and studied at Harvard University, the University of Cambridge, the University of California Berkeley, and IRCAM with teachers including Mario Davidovsky, Julian Anderson, Edmund Campion, and Philippe Leroux. 

The ensemble for contemporary music United Instruments of Lucilin was founded in 1999 by a group of passionate and committed musicians and is the only Luxembourgish chamber music ensemble specialised in contemporary music. Dedicated exclusively to promoting and commissioning works of the 20th and 21st century, United Instruments of Lucilin is now known for its outstanding programs around the world. 

In about 40 concerts a year, Lucilin presents a broad scope of musical events, ranging from “traditional” concerts to music theatre productions, children projects, improvisation sessions as well as discussions with composers. In May 2022, the ensemble premiered Sleep Laboratory, Alexander Schubert’s last immersive project with VR at the Achtbrücken festival in Cologne.  

Lately, United Instruments of Lucilin has commissioned works to James Dillon, Fatima Fonte, Giulia Lorusso, Philippe Manoury, Sonja Mutić, François Sarhan, Igor Silva and Stefan Prins. 

Performance
Sound Without Music

Première mondiale

Participation : 10 € / 1,50 € avec le Kulturpass

Share

Partners

Ministère de la Culture (commission publique), OTO Sound Museum

Tickets

United Instruments of Lucilin perform "Unspeakable Home" by Aaron Einbond

Aller au contenu principal
Unspeakable Home

Unspeakable Home

Artiste(s)
Aaron Einbond (compos.), United Instruments of Lucilin (interpr.)

Installation performée composée pour United Instruments of Lucilin

Première mondiale

Go to the pine if you want to learn about the pine 

– Matsuo Bashō 

Quels sont les sons qui nous touchent le plus ? Comment marquent-ils nos souvenirs ? J'ai demandé aux interprètes de United Instruments of Lucilin de décrire les lieux les plus significatifs pour eux/elles au Luxembourg, où vivent l'ensemble et plusieurs de ses membres, et d'imiter les sons de ces lieux avec leurs instruments. J'ai ensuite visité chaque lieu pour faire des enregistrements d'ambiance inspirés par les descriptions des interprètes, et j'ai composé une partition qui rassemble les descriptions, les sons instrumentaux, les enregistrements d'ambiance et les transcriptions détaillées de chaque enregistrement pour que les interprètes puissent les réinterpréter en direct. L'installation performée qui en résulte en dit autant sur les interprètes et mes propres expériences que sur les lieux eux-mêmes. Les spectateur·rice·s visitent l'œuvre cyclique aussi longtemps qu'ils/elles le souhaitent et se joignent à nous dans le paysage sonore remémoré. À travers nos sons et nos souvenirs fragmentés, nous essayons tou·te·s de trouver le chemin vers la maison.

– Aaron Einbond

Le travail d'Aaron Einbond explore l'intersection entre la musique instrumentale, l'enregistrement sur le terrain, l'installation sonore et la technologie interactive. Il enseigne à la City, Université de Londres et est co-directeur artistique de Qubit New Music à New York. Il a reçu une bourse de la John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation, un Giga-Hertz Förderpreis et des résidences de recherche artistique à l'IRCAM et au ZKM. Il a enseigné à l'Université de Columbia, à l'Université de Huddersfield et à l'Université de Harvard et a étudié à l'Université de Harvard, à l'Université de Cambridge, à l'Université de Berkeley, ainsi qu'à  l'IRCAM avec les professeurs Mario Davidovsky, Julian Anderson, Edmund Campion et Philippe Leroux.

L'ensemble de musique contemporaine United Instruments of Lucilin, fondé en 1999 par un groupe de musicien·ne·s passionné·e·s et engagé·e·s, est le seul ensemble luxembourgeois de musique de chambre spécialisé dans la musique contemporaine. Se consacrant exclusivement à la promotion et à la commande d'œuvres des 20e et 21e siècles, United Instruments of Lucilin est désormais connu pour ses programmes exceptionnels dans le monde entier. 

Au cours d'une quarantaine de concerts par an, Lucilin présente un large éventail d'événements musicaux, allant de concerts « traditionnels » à des productions de théâtre musical, des projets pour enfants, des sessions d'improvisation ainsi que des discussions avec des compositeur·rice·s. En mai 2022, l'ensemble a créé Sleep Laboratory, le dernier projet immersif d'Alexander Schubert en Réalité Virtuelle au festival Achtbrücken de Cologne.  

Dernièrement, United Instruments of Lucilin a commandé des œuvres à James Dillon, Fatima Fonte, Giulia Lorusso, Philippe Manoury, Sonja Mutić, François Sarhan, Igor Silva et Stefan Prins. 

Performance
Sound Without Music

Veuillez choisir entre les trois créneaux horaires suivants : 
19 h 00 – 19 h 40
19 h 40 – 20 h 20
20 h 20 – 20 h 20 (tarif réduit : 5 € / gratuit avec le pass rainy days)*

Participation : 10 € / 5 € avec le pass rainy days / 1,50 € avec le Kulturpass 

* Prière de nous contacter : visites@casino-luxembourg.lu / (00352) 22 50 45

Partager

Partenaires

Ministère de la Culture (commission publique), OTO Sound Museum

Tickets

United Instruments of Lucilin perform "Unspeakable Home" by Aaron Einbond

10 € / 5 € avec le / with the / mit dem pass rainy days / 1,50 € avec le / with the / mit dem Kulturpass 

à régler sur place / to be paid at reception / vor Ort zahlen