Skip to main content
Adrien Vescovi, Jours de lenteur

Jours de lenteur

Artist(s)
Adrien Vescovi
Curator(s)
Stilbé Schroeder

In his Marseille studio, we find pigments, washing machines, jars of colour in which pieces of textile are bathed, rusty steel bars and hanging canvases, waiting to be assembled with others, after cutting and sewing. Thought and composed like paintings, they are then hung in spaces where they act with their environment. In the middle of nature, where they are impregnated by the elements and the weather; indoors, where these canvases and their layout respond to the architecture of the place.

Grandeur and vulnerability come together in the work of Adrien Vescovi like two discordant notes that are brought into tune in a deliberately soft, safe, desaturated space. While disproportionate, the scale at which Vescovi conceives his paintings never seems excessive. Working at such a vast scale means working at the scale of nature itself, which also implies wrestling with shortcomings, whether in terms of space or emotions. Vescovi tries to elude or break up the imposed framework of painting and lose himself in a process which, by definition, cannot be completely controlled. Doing so, he not only accounts for chance and ephemeral or primitive manifestations, but rather conjures them. Rust, ochre, mint green, washed-out yellow: his ‘landscape juices’, as he calls them, capture the Mediterranean relief in its most earthy state. 

So how can we not also see in the soft and malleable monumentality of these works an attempt to oppose the harshness of urban environments? Covering the entire northern façade of the Casino Luxembourg, a surface of 14 by 38 metres, Vescovi’s suspended paintings are exposed to the wind and the natural elements. The ‘poor’ materials from which they are made helps to smooth the edges, to rest the eyes and sublimate the cracks wherever they appear. 

The magic also operates on the first floor, which has been transformed into a ceremonial space occupied by a painting that has been unfolded on the floor like a large tablecloth on grass and which, through the mere choice of horizontality, inverts the relationship between interior and exterior within the exhibition itself. 

Adrien Vescovi (born in 1981 and a graduate of the École supérieure d’art de l’agglomération d’Annecy) has been living and working in Marseille since 2017 after a long practice in the mountains of Haute-Savoie. The artist reinvents with contemporary issues the question of the free canvas and of a painting thought at an architectural and natural scale. The importance of the context in which the artist comes to install his works is for him an essential factor of study. Adrien Vescovi composes temporalities, assembles colours worked according to different alchemical processes from air (sun and moon rays), earth (ochres and plants) and fire (cooking, infusions). His way of sewing is a way of painting. Chance is his ally.

His work has been presented in the Netherlands, Belgium, Denmark and Mexico. In 2021, he will participate in the 22nd Pernod Ricard Foundation Prize with the project Bonaventure signed by Lilou Vidal. His work has also had a first solo exhibition at the contemporary art centre Le Grand Café in Saint Nazaire and has been shown at the Pera Museum in Istanbul.

Exhibitions

Double vernissage, Friday, 30.09.2022, 18:00, with the opening of Sound Without Music

19:00: Molto (performance)    

DJ set: Richard Heinemann

Food truck + drinks + kids workshop

Free admission

Share

Aller au contenu principal
Adrien Vescovi, Jours de lenteur

Jours de lenteur

Artiste(s)
Adrien Vescovi
Curateur(s)
Stilbé Schroeder

Dans son atelier marseillais, on trouve des pigments, des lessiveuses, des bocaux de couleur où baignent des pans de textile, des barres d’acier rouillé et des toiles suspendues, en attente d’être assemblées à d’autres, après découpe et couture. Pensées et composées comme des tableaux, les toiles sont ensuite accrochées dans des espaces où elles agissent avec leur environnement. En pleine nature où elles s’imprègnent des éléments et des intempéries ; en intérieur où ces toiles et leur disposition répondent à l’architecture des lieux.

Grandeur et vulnérabilité se rejoignent dans l’œuvre d’Adrien Vescovi comme deux tensions mises au diapason dans un espace volontairement cotonneux, safe, désaturé. La démesure avec laquelle il conçoit ses tableaux ne saurait jamais être de trop. Travailler l’immense signifie ici travailler à l’échelle de la nature et, en filigrane, à l’échelle des manques, qu’ils soient d’espaces ou d’émotions. Il importe à l’artiste de déjouer, voire d’éclater le cadre imposé pour se perdre dans un processus qui, par définition, ne saurait être totalement maîtrisable. Adrien Vescovi non seulement prend en compte l’éphémère, le hasard et le primitif : il les invoque. Rouille, ocre, vert menthe, citron délavé : ces « jus de paysage », comme il les appelle, dessinent le relief méditerranéen dans ce qu’il a de plus terreux.  

Alors, comment ne pas aussi voir dans la monumentalité douillette et malléable de ces œuvres une main tendue contre l’âpreté du milieu urbain ? Recouvrant dans sa totalité la façade nord du Casino Luxembourg, soit une superficie de 14 sur 38 mètres, les tableaux suspendus s’offrent au souffle et aux éléments. Le matériau « pauvre » qui les compose parvient à estomper les angles, reposer les regards et sublimer les fissures où qu’elles soient.  

La magie, on la retrouve également au premier étage transformé en espace cérémoniel, avec, déplié au sol comme une grande nappe sur gazon, un tableau qui, par le choix de sa seule horizontalité, inverse les rapports intérieur et extérieur au sein même de l’exposition. 

Adrien Vescovi (né en 1981 et diplômé de l’École supérieure d’art de l’agglomération d’Annecy) vit et travaille à Marseille depuis 2017 après une longue pratique installée dans les montagnes de Haute-Savoie. L’artiste réinvestit avec des enjeux contemporains la question de la toile libre et d’une peinture pensée à une échelle architecturale et naturelle. L’importance du contexte dans lequel l’artiste vient installer ses œuvres est pour lui un facteur d’étude incontournable. Adrien Vescovi compose des temporalités, assemble des couleurs travaillées selon différents processus alchimiques à partir de l’air (rayons du soleil et de la lune), de la terre (ocres et végétaux) et du feu (cuissons, infusions). Sa manière de coudre est une façon de peindre. Le hasard est son allié. 

Son travail a été présenté aux Pays-Bas, en Belgique, au Danemark et au Mexique. En 2021, il participe au 22e prix de la Fondation d’entreprise Pernod Ricard avec le projet Bonaventure signé par Lilou Vidal. Son travail a aussi bénéficié d’une première exposition personnelle au centre d’art contemporain Le Grand Café de Saint Nazaire et a été visible au Pera Museum d’Istanbul.

Expositions

Double vernissage, vendredi 30.09.2022, 18 h 00, avec l'ouverture de Sound Without Music

19 h 00 : Molto (performance)    

DJ set : Richard Heinemann

Food truck + boissons + atelier pour enfants

Entrée gratuite

Partager