Skip to main content
whitenoise

Sound Without Music

Artist(s)
Thomas Ankersmit, Hans Beckers, His Fable, Lorenz Lindner (Molto), Andrea Mancini, Passepartout Duo, Puck Schot (Acidic Male), Anna Raimondo, Sensu, United Instruments of Lucilin
Curator(s)
Anastasia Chaguidouline

The potential of sound in contemporary art

Recently there has been a growing interest in scores within the realm of contemporary art. Musical scores have been compared to 'concepts' that might or might not need interpretation or execution, or that in turn can be executed in a variety of ways. In 1966, Meyer Kupferman wrote Music Without Sound, an experiment based on a diagrammatic approach to the organisation of sound where music is meant to be read rather than listened to. This triggers the question of what then defines sound separately from music. Is it its defying chronology and temporality? Is it its presence; can you feel it? 

Sound Without Music is a reflection on different roles and textures of sound in contemporary art, and the various ways sound can be carefully heard or deeply listened to. This project puts both emerging and established practices, collectives and synergies in the spotlight to show how listening to and producing sounds remain key rituals in contemporary society. Breaking the convention of an exhibition of things, the hybrid format between a permanent display of works and an ephemeral programme will showcase the freedom of experimentation and the cross-contamination between disciplines. 

The exhibition

Lorenz Lindner - Molto

Molto is a performance, a concert and a sculpture all in one. At the heart of his work as a sculptor, Lorenz Lindner turns the casual and the unforeseen, the poetry of the accident on its head.

Anna Raimondo - Derrière la mer

Derrière la mer (Behind the Sea) is an installation based on a score composed by the artist Anna Raimondo, the result of a research that sees the texts of the Bible and the Koran meet on a common territory: the sea. The sound piece - the heart of this work - interweaves voices comparing different cultures, languages and geographies, to end up suggesting how the two sacred texts, belonging to the two monotheistic religions, have common references traceable in the immensity of the sea. 

Andrea Mancini - Matter of Deep Dreaming 

This installation includes a visual research on textures and movement through artificial intelligence, a sound research composed with analogue modular machines, as well as the vocal implementation of texts taken from David Toop's Ocean of sound.

Passepartout Duo 

Continually re-evaluating the tools they use to create their music, the work of Passepartout Duo (Nicoletta Favari and Christopher Salvito) is centred on a specialised and evolving ecosystem of handmade musical instruments, ranging from more conventional percussion to eccentric sculptural pieces to room-sized textile installations.

 

From the beginning of September, the interdisciplinary programme that precedes and accompanies the exhibition, will gradually unfold through concerts, performances, DJ-sets and screenings, between day and night, between colourful f(r)ictions and white noise.

View Agenda

Exhibitions

Double vernissage, Friday, 30.09.2022, 18.00, with the opening of Adrien Vescovi - Jours de lenteur

19.00: Molto (performance)    

DJ set: Richard Heinemann

Food truck + drinks + kids workshop

Free admission

Share

Direkt zum Inhalt
whitenoise

Sound Without Music

Künstler*in(nen)
Thomas Ankersmit, Hans Beckers, His Fable, Lorenz Lindner (Molto), Andrea Mancini, Passepartout Duo, Puck Schot (Acidic Male), Anna Raimondo, Sensu, United Instruments of Lucilin
Kurator*in(nen)
Anastasia Chaguidouline

Das Potenzial von Klang in der zeitgenössischen Kunst

In jüngster Zeit ist ein wachsendes Interesse an Partituren im Bereich der zeitgenössischen Kunst zu verzeichnen. Musikalische Partituren wurden mit "Konzepten" verglichen, die einer Interpretation oder Ausführung bedürfen oder auch nicht, oder die ihrerseits auf verschiedene Weise ausgeführt werden können. Im Jahr 1966 schrieb Meyer Kupferman Music Without Sound, ein Experiment, das auf einem diagrammatischen Ansatz für die Organisation von Klang basiert, bei dem die Musik eher gelesen als gehört werden soll. Dies wirft die Frage auf, was denn den Klang von der Musik unterscheidet. Ist es die Tatsache, dass er sich der Chronologie und Zeitlichkeit entzieht? Ist es seine Präsenz: can you feel it

Sound Without Music ist eine Reflexion über die verschiedenen Rollen und Texturen von Klang in der zeitgenössischen Kunst und über die verschiedenen Arten, wie Klang sorgfältig gehört oder intensiv wahrgenommen werden kann. Dieses Projekt rückt sowohl aufstrebende als auch etablierte Praktiken, Kollektive und Synergien ins Rampenlicht, um zu zeigen, wie das Hören und Produzieren von Klängen in der zeitgenössischen Gesellschaft nach wie vor wichtige Rituale sind. Das hybride Format zwischen einer permanenten Ausstellung von Werken und einem ephemeren Programm bricht mit der Konvention einer Ausstellung von Dingen und zeigt die Freiheit des Experimentierens und die Überschneidungen zwischen den Disziplinen. 

Die Ausstellung

Lorenz Lindner - Molto

Molto ist gleichzeitig eine Performance, ein Konzert und eine Skulptur. Im Zentrum seiner Arbeit als Bildhauer dreht und wendet Lorenz Lindner das Beiläufige und Unvorhergesehene, die Poesie des Unfalls.

Anna Raimondo - Derrière la mer

Derrière la mer ist eine Installation, die auf einer von der Künstlerin Anna Raimondo komponierten Partitur basiert. Sie ist das Ergebnis einer Recherche, bei der die Texte der Bibel und des Korans auf einem gemeinsamen Territorium aufeinandertreffen: dem Meer. Das Klangstück - das Herzstück dieses Werks - verwebt Stimmen, die verschiedene Kulturen, Sprachen und Geografien miteinander vergleichen, um schließlich anzudeuten, wie sehr die beiden heiligen Texte, die den beiden monotheistischen Religionen angehören, gemeinsame Referenzen haben, die sich in der Weite des Meeres nachvollziehen lassen. 

Andrea Mancini - Matter of Deep Dreaming 

Die Installation Matter of Deep Dreaming umfasst eine visuelle Forschung zu Texturen und Bewegung mithilfe künstlicher Intelligenz, eine Klangforschung, die mit analogen Modulmaschinen komponiert wurde, sowie die stimmliche Umsetzung von Texten aus David Toops Ocean of sound.

Passepartout Duo

Die Arbeit des Passepartout Duo (Nicoletta Favari und Christopher Salvito), das die Werkzeuge, die es zur Schaffung seiner Musik verwendet, ständig neu bewertet, konzentriert sich auf ein spezialisiertes und sich entwickelndes Ökosystem handgefertigter Musikinstrumente, das von konventionelleren Schlaginstrumenten über raumgroße Textilinstallationen bis hin zu exzentrischen skulpturalen Stücken reicht.

 

Ab Anfang September wird sich das interdisziplinäre Programm, das der Ausstellung vorausgeht und sie begleitet, nach und nach durch Konzerte, Performances, DJ-Sets und Screenings entfalten, zwischen Tag und Nacht, zwischen bunten F(r)iktionen und weißem Rauschen.

Siehe Agenda

Ausstellungen

Doppelte Vernissage, Freitag, 30.09.2022, 18.00 Uhr, mit der Eröffnung von Adrien Vescovi - Jours de lenteur

19.00 Uhr: Molto (Performance)    

DJ Set: Richard Heinemann

Food Truck + Drinks + Kids-Workshop

Freier Eintritt

Teilen