Skip to main content
nevernever_rsz_1.jpg

The Never Never

Artist(s)
Jeremy Hutchison
Curator(s)
Evelyn Simons

“Did you know, there are more Porsches in Athens than anywhere in Europe!”
(from a phone conversation between the artist and his father)

The Never Never includes a short film and a series of images. In the film, a Porsche 911 is divided into eight pieces and worn by members of the Athenian theatre troupe, Nova Melancholia. Emerging from the sea, they navigate a series of epic landscapes before arriving at a photo studio, where they become subjects of a commercial shoot. All this is documented by a film crew, who in turn become actors in the performance. 

The Never Never explores contemporary mythologies: fake news, luxury branding, national stereotypes. It examines how Porsches have become the focus for xenophobic projections about Greeks in European right-wing media. The title of the project is slang for debt: it refers to the apparently never-ending number of payments on a loan.

Jeremy Hutchison (b.1979) is a British artist based in London. Working across performance, sculpture, text and video he intervenes in systems of production and consumption, perverting norms to produce crisis and absurdity. His exhibitions include the ICA, Modern Art Oxford, Kunstverein Wiesbaden, V&A, Z33, Prada Foundation, EVA Biennale, Jerwood Space, Saatchi New Sensations and Southbank Centre. He has completed residencies with Delfina Foundation, Arts Catalyst Raw Material Company and Hospitalfield. He received a distinction from the Slade School of Fine Art and was a fellow of the Whitney Museum ISP, New York.

Evelyn Simons (b.1989) is a curator and writer based in Brussels. Her activities centre around social practice and the mediation of contemporary art in public space. She runs the visual arts and performance programming at Horst Arts & Music, blending the worlds of contemporary art and architecture with electronic music at a derelict military base Asiat in Vilvoorde (Brussels' periphery). Alongside co-curator Isabel Van Bos, she is launching a new centre for contemporary art in the rural periphery of Brussels, Ter Rijst. Evelyn Simons programmes the artists-in-residence for Fondation CAB Brussels and Saint-Paul-de-Vence, and occasionally curates for Ballon Rouge Collective. As a laureate of Curate Award, Fondazione Prada & Qatar Museums in 2014, she curated Driftwood, or how we surfaced through currents (2017) Athens, of which The Never Never with Jeremy Hutchison forms the second chapter. In 2016 she was curator-in-residence at the Beirut Art Residency (LB), and in 2021 at Villa Lena, Tuscany (IT). Evelyn Simons has a Masters in Art History from Ghent University, and a Postgraduate degree in Curatorial Studies from KASK Ghent. 

Exhibitions

Opening: Friday 02.12.2022, 18:30

Share

Partners

With the support of: Fondazione Prada

Aller au contenu principal
nevernever_rsz_1.jpg

The Never Never

Artiste(s)
Jeremy Hutchison
Curateur(s)
Evelyn Simons

« Savais-tu qu’il y a plus de Porsches à Athènes que partout ailleurs en Europe ! »
(extrait d’une conversation téléphonique entre l’artiste et son père)

L'exposition The Never Never comprend un court-métrage et une série d'images. Dans le film, une Porsche 911 est divisée en huit pièces et portée par les membres de la troupe de théâtre athénienne, Nova Melancholia. Émergeant de la mer, ils/elles traversent une série de paysages épiques avant d’arriver dans un studio photo, où ils/elles deviennent les sujets d’une séance de photos commerciales. Tout ceci est documenté par une équipe de tournage, qui devient à son tour acteur de la performance. 

The Never Never explore les mythologies contemporaines : fake news, marques de luxe, stéréotypes nationaux. Il examine comment les Porsches sont devenues le point de mire des projections xénophobes sur les Grecs dans les médias européens de droite. Le titre du projet est un mot d’argot signifiant « dette » : il fait référence au nombre apparemment sans fin de paiements sur un prêt.

Jeremy Hutchison (né en 1979) est un artiste britannique basé à Londres. Avec ses travaux dans les domaines de la performance, de la sculpture, du texte et de la vidéo, il intervient dans les systèmes de production et de consommation, tout en pervertissant les normes pour créer des crises et des absurdités. Il a exposé notamment à l’ICA, Modern Art Oxford, Kunstverein Wiesbaden, V&A, Z33, Prada Foundation, EVA Biennale, Jerwood Space, Saatchi New Sensations et Southbank Centre. Il a effectué des résidences à la Fondation Delfina, Arts Catalyst Raw Material Company et Hospitalfield. Il a reçu une distinction de la Slade School of Fine Art et a été membre du Whitney Museum ISP, à New York.

Evelyn Simons (née en 1989) est curatrice écrivaine basée à Bruxelles. Ses activités sont centrées sur la pratique sociale et la médiation de l'art contemporain dans l'espace public. Elle dirige la programmation des arts visuels et de la performance à Horst Arts & Music, mêlant les mondes de l'art contemporain et de l'architecture à la musique électronique dans une base militaire abandonnée, l'Asiat, à Vilvorde (périphérie de Bruxelles). Avec la co-commissaire Isabel Van Bos, elle lance un nouveau centre d'art contemporain dans la périphérie rurale de Bruxelles, Ter Rijst. Evelyn Simons programme les artistes en résidence pour la Fondation CAB Bruxelles et Saint-Paul-de-Vence, et assure occasionnellement le commissariat pour le Collectif Ballon Rouge. Lauréate du Curate Award, Fondazione Prada & Qatar Museums en 2014, elle a été commissaire de Driftwood, or how we surfaced through currents (2017) Athènes, dont The Never Never avec Jeremy Hutchison constitue le deuxième chapitre. En 2016, elle a été commissaire en résidence à la Beirut Art Residency (LB), et en 2021 à la Villa Lena, en Toscane (IT). Evelyn Simons est titulaire d'une maîtrise en histoire de l'art de l'Université de Gand et d'un diplôme postuniversitaire en études curatoriales de KASK Gand. 

Expositions

Vernissage : Vendredi 02.12.2022, 18 h 30

Partager

Partenaires

Avec le soutien de : Fondazione Prada